keither
Newly Registered

(possible) Chinese Elm - dormancy vs dying

Hey, thanks for reading...

All things considered, I'm a newbie to bonsai. I've done the usual reading but want some confirmation before i proceed with some things...

i (think i) have a Chinese Elm bonsai, based on pictures. I purchased it at a garden center in Antwerp, Belgium.

I've noticed that leaves are turning yellow and dropping quick. It's 5 years old and has been in the same place for a few weeks now. There is not much sunlight that comes into the house so it's on my coffee table under a 60watt bulb about 6ft above (which is on, pretty much all day).

I've read that repotting should be done near the end of the dormancy period. But I'm at a loss now, being almost December with no chance to get my tree outside for some fresh air and sun.

As you can see in the photographs, the soil is pretty dark and dense (mind you it's still damp from a watering, yesterday). I have a feeling this little tree has never been repotted or had a root trimming. To lift the tree (and soil) out of the pot I'm going to have to scrape away some of the soil at the edge (pot tapers inwards at the top). I would like to change to a coarser (more coarse?) soil and have a look at the root system to see if it needs a trim... BUT... will all this be in vain because my tree is TRYING to lose it's leaves and have a winter nap?? i don't want to stress my tree any more than necessary so I'm looking for some advice.

Anything is appreciated.

(sorry for the pic quality, there's a magnify button to look closer)

yellow leaves
[url]https://picasaweb.google.com/binary.keith/Bonsai/photo#5138587929650617426[/url]
location wrt window
[url]https://picasaweb.google.com/binary.keith/Bonsai/photo#5138587951125453922[/url]
soil
[url]https://picasaweb.google.com/binary.keith/Bonsai/photo#5138587968305323122[/url]

koiboy01

Hi,