takemori
Newly Registered

I picked up a dying tree - chances / what to do to revive?

Hi everyone, Yesterday morning I picked up a tree, it was growing inside a wall between two shop houses approximately on the level of a 3rd floor. It was not growing in the ground etc, one of those trees who's seed got into the wall and it started to grow. I think it dwarfed itself but may be not.

It looked ok, may be even healthy from down below where I walk. The building got demolished few days ago and tree was removed from the wall with the root ready to be thrown away, I asked construction workers if i can take it and they gave it to me. It was with naked roots for a maximum of 48 hours, I took it in the morning when i had to go to work so i just put the roots into a plastic bag with water and rushed out, in the evening i bought some soil and covered some of the roots, and i will buy more shortly today.

I am not very good at gardening i am growing two small lemon trees from seeds (doing good) and a bunch of tomatoes (not so good), I am in Singapore.

Please advice. Is there a chance, is it going to die for sure? thoughts? The root has a very peculiar shape it is made of mostly lots of thin roots due to the need of penetrating the brick wall before I guess.
Attachments
Current state
Current state

webmaster
Site Admin

Re: I picked up a dying tree - chances / what to do to revi

The tree looks a little stressed but it could come back. Give it time outside, with sunshine. If you're keeping it indoors that's probably going to stress it- trees are meant to be outdoors not in.

takemori
Newly Registered

I have a big balcony.... I am keeping it there, if it survives i will buy a huge pot and plant it into it, now it is planted into soil but within plastic bag.

takemori
Newly Registered

Thank you everyone for your comments.