maddie99
Newly Registered

Tomatoes are Dying

Hi! I am new to this site so I'm sorry if I haven't done this correctly. I'm 15 years old and I am pretty new to gardening. I live in Maryland. One of my tomato plants got brown/yellow spots on some of its leaves a while ago and now it is nearly dead. There are no healthy leaves left. It has a lot of tomatoes on it still, but many of them are rotting, even when they are green. Now, I'm finding the same spots on the leaves of all my other tomato plants. It has been raining an unusually large amount lately. I attached some pictures. Can anyone help me figure out what this is and what to do about it? Thanks!
Attachments
image1 (5).JPG
image1 (4).JPG
image1 (3).JPG
image1 (2).JPG
This is a tomato from the first plant that got sick.
This is a tomato from the first plant that got sick.
This is the first plant that got "sick."
This is the first plant that got "sick."

GardeningCook
Greener Thumb

Re: Tomatoes are Dying

That's definitely a "blight" problem, & while I don't want to be a Debbie Downer, at this stage there really is nothing you can do apart from planting your tomatoes in a different area next year.

Don't let this discourage you from gardening. Early & Late Tomato Blights are the bane of gardeners everywhere.
My body is a temple. Unfortunately, it's a fixer-upper.

applestar
Mod

Yes, that plant is infected pretty seriously.

To truly assess the situation, be ruthless about cutting off and bagging ALL affected fruits and leaves. The bagged material should be thrown out in the trash. Then show us pictures of what the plants look like with only the healthy foliage, floral trusses and fruit trusses.

Be sure to disinfect the tool before cutting into healthy parts of the plant -- some people recommend a bucket of water with bleach added (I'm sorry I'm not sure of the correct amount) but I just use rubbing alcohol in a travel atomizer to spray both sides of the pruning shears.