mads
Newly Registered

Uncooperative tomato plant

Hi, this is my first post, probably not the last considering I just got responsibility for 31 different plants in the office. I have no experience with plants whatsoever.

Some of them are thriving, most of them look a bit sad, and the tomato plant is severely depressed. Any ideas? I didn't do the potting myself, but I observed it and it was done in a brutal, hurried fashion.

Some info:
The plants are all in a windowsill facing east, there are no other windows in the office.
They were bought at a plant store, and repotted into ceramic pots.
They were fertilized three weeks ago.
New branches started growing out after the other leaves looked dead. I suspect they are suckers, but since they were healthy I decided to leave them alone.
The leaves are crispy.
Attachments
IMAG0920_1.jpg
IMAG0921.jpg
IMAG0919.jpg

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Re: Uncooperative tomato plant

Not sure why you say it is "uncooperative" since the poor baby has produced two tomatoes despite being tiny, chopped up and in bad conditions :) .

The crispy leaves look burned. Ordinarily when people submit pics looking like that, I would say sunburned. When a plant is brought from inside to outside direct sun without gradual exposure, the leaves get sunburned and look like that. Was it out in the sun for awhile before it was brought in? I don't see how it could possibly be sunburned sitting in an east facing window. Other things can burn leaves like that: wind (which seems equally unlikely unless it was outside) or chemicals. Did some fertilizer or other chemicals get on those leaves?