Ann24
Newly Registered

Bed width/depth?

Hi everyone,

We recently purchased a home with a bit of an odd yard. Almost the entire yard is slanted, and the previous owner has removed all flower/shrub beds and planted grass all the way to the house foundation. My plan is to create stairs down the slope, but I want to leave enough space between house foundation and stairs so I can plant shrubs (or something!) along the stairs down the slope. My main question is how much space to leave?

I'm a very novice at this, so I am not really sure yet what plants to put in along the house. The area is facing North East (zone 8A, Pacific NW, US) and does not get much sun since it's shaded by the house most of the day. Plants that come to mind are things like Hostas, but I'm hoping to mix it up with other shade tolerant plants - not sure if a Hydrangea will survive there, but that would be a nice one. The plants have to be 'kind' to the house foundation too. All thoughts on what plants to consider, and how wide to make my bed, is greatly appreciated! :D

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Re: Bed width/depth?

Hi Ann

Welcome to the forum.

I had a landscaping business for 10 years and still do some consulting work.

The biggest mistake home owners make is poor planning. You are going into winter so this is not the best time to install landscaping. Spend your winter planning and researching plants. Install your beds in the spring.

You need a few tools.

A long tape measure
A large pad of 1/4" to 1' scale graph paper. Get the big sheets - 8 1/2" x 11" is not large enough.
Architect ruler
Scaled plant template - 1/4" to 1' the office supply stores sometimes have them if not a University book store will have it and of course on line

Start by measuring the front of your home. Make a scale drawing. Make sure to annotate windows, doors, water supply, electrical supply and any hardscapes - side walks and driveways. Pay attention to power lines. Also look for utility meters.