gardeningnovicenick
Newly Registered

Help - advice on turfing and levelling garden

Hi Everyone,

New to gardening and new to this site and looking for advice.

I'm a gardening novice and have no clue what I'm doing so I am reaching out to you knowledgeable folks for some help and advice.

I have a section of garden that is approx. 115ft by 16 ft, this section of garden has been neglected over the years but I am determined to make it a usable space (see attached pic, sorry about the low res). I am wanting advice as to what I should do in terms of clearing the weeds and levelling it (it is really uneven with the first part much lower than the upper part). I am wondering whether to rotivate it and then turf it? I am not fussed about it being well manicured or landscaped just for it to look presentable and for the kids to be able to play on it.

I would really like to level it, but I can't get a small digger into the garden because it is tiered and there are steps. I would like to turf it and so any advice on that would be great. The section of the garden is weedy and has some rubble in the soil (from the previous owners).

Thanks very much in advance for any help.

Cheers, Nick

garden pic1
garden pic1

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Re: Help - advice on turfing and levelling garden

Nick - welcome to the forum. first how about updating your profile? Information about where you live would be very helpful. Not just your USDA zone but your actual location. Judging from the picture you have a major project on your hands. If you are not adverse to chemicals use Round Up on the weeds. Remove any debris - rocks, roots. You will need to bring in a LOT of soil. Sodding would be your best bet. If you seed the necessary watering and any rain will wash the seed and erode the soil. The type of sod depends on your region and what grows best there.

Good luck
Elizabeth - or Your Majesty

Living and growing in Lafayette, La.