jjb99
Newly Registered

My great-great-grandmother's cactus

Hello everyone :) I was at my grandmother's the other day, and I asked her about this droopy, kind of ugly plant she's had for as long as I can remember. She told me that it belonged to my great-grandfather's mother, and that she had no idea what it is. It's pretty obviously some kind of cactus, but otherwise, I'm stumped. I'm new to this whole gardening thing, so I apologize if this is a common plant of some sort.
Any ideas?

Thanks!
Attachments
cactus2.jpg
cactus1.jpg
Last edited by jjb99 on Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Countryladiesgardens
Green Thumb

Re: My great-great-grandmother's cactus

What a cool cacti! My Uncle had quite the collection of tall Cacti in his yard. They were pretty to look at but watch out! Lots of those things you don't want to touch! :-()
Happy gardening! :-()

https://www.purplegoo.ca
https://www.dadspeppercompany.com

@SweetnSvry
@DadsPeppers

purpleinopp
Green Thumb

Looks like an Epiphyllum of some type. Regardless of the possible name, it's definitely an epiphytic jungle entity, not a dweller of dry deserts, so please don't treat it like a cactus. This kind of plant likes to stay moist like any other denizen of moist, rainforest jungle, and too much mid-day sun can burn it. However, the roots can rot very easily, so a chunky/porous/airy soil is best, like that sold for cacti or orchids. If it blooms, you'll be blown away, and a specific ID should be possible if nobody recognizes it without flowers.

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Epiphyllum Oxypetalum - frequently called Queen of the Night. It is a night bloomer. The blooms range from 6" to 10'+ in diameter. They are very fragrant. The blooms close and wilt after they bloom. A one night stand.