GAPeach

Pepper Not Producing

I'm new to gardening & have 3 pepper plants that are not producing. I grew one pepper on one plant & nothing else has grown in a month. :( Should I cut this pepper off to try & get the plant to produce?
Attachments
Pepper small.JPG

ElizabethB
Super Green Thumb

Re: Pepper Not Producing

It looks like a young plant. You can harvest now or let it mature a little more. Did you plant from seed or a start? If a start did it have a baby pepper or flower on it when you planted? I don't see any flowers on the that plant. What about the other plants? The plant looks healthy. Have you fertilized? If you have and you used a high nitrogen fertilizer that may be an issue. High nitrogen will push a lot of foliage growth instead of flowers. Be patient - it is still early even in Georgia.

Good luck
Elizabeth - or Your Majesty

Living and growing in Lafayette, La.

When weeding, the best way to make sure you are removing a weed and not a valuable plant is to pull on it. If it comes out of the ground easily, it is a valuable plant. ~Author Unknown

GAPeach

Thank You for the information. I planted from start & it did not have a baby pepper on it when planted. I do not recall seeing any flowers. The others just have a lot of foliage. I fertilized them about a week ago.

Thanks again.

applestar
Mod

I think this plant is taking a break in growing while it concentrates on the fruit. There aren't enough leaves on it for it to do both. I wonder, too if it's getting too hot in Georgia? Hot temps will get stressful, and it might consider this one fruit its biological prerogative fulfilled and call it done.

I want to say I would cut the fruit off -- eat it as a green pepper in mixed stir fry or something. :wink:
Learning never ends because we can share what we've learned. And in sharing our collective experiences, we gain deeper understanding of what we learned.

JC's Garden