amy99s

onion seed pods???

I found these weird bulbs on top of the green sprouts coming from my onions. I looked it up and I think they are seed pods?

What should I do with them????

[img]https://www.whosaidnothinginlifeisfree.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/onion-seed-pods.jpg[/img][/url]

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

>seed pods

not exactly - it's a "bud" - onions produce a globular "flower" - then seeds develop from the flower.

amy99s

oh ok... so I should just leave it on there then?

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

leave it and enjoy the flowering.

when onion and kin flower and set seed, it is at the expense of the bulb - you will not likely find the bulb useable. clipping off the flower does not "stop" that process - so may as well enjoy the flowers.

amy99s

awwww so I am going to lose those onions huh? ok thanks

This is my first year growing anything so its all a learning process for me !!!

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

>lose . .

likely. onions are bi-annuals - one year they bulb, next year they flower.

cultural / climate conditions can 'fool' them, and they can be 'manipulated' to a degree (I.e. onion sets) -

amy99s

ok one more question about onions... if I cut off the green sprouts, would that help the bulbs get bigger (not talking about the ones with the flower starting but the others I have in my garden)

I bought a bunch at a nursery and planted them and some are getting so big while others are super small still. And only 3 have started to flower.

Dillbert
Greener Thumb

perhaps we should start at the beginning . . .

from what is posted so far, I have the impression you bought onion "sets" from the nursery - looks like little bitty onions...?

as to cutting off the green sprouts - don't do that. those are the "leaves" of the plant. the little sets will all send up tubular "leaves"

sometimes a seedling / "set" gets fooled into thinking it's the second season and it blooms. sometimes it's a smaller set, sometimes a bigger set - difficult to "predict"