kktk
Newly Registered

Tomatoes-grew them, but cant do it again! :)

I guess I should finally ask this question instead of struggling year after year.
I am new to this---and have been reading this forum for answers to basic stuff and realized how many things I do wrong! :)
Oh well!.....on to the issue at hand.

I grew tomatoes in the ground and in pots(18 inch deep ones with good drainage).
First year, I got great tomatoes in the ground(Phoenix area) from Mar-June.
Got great tomatoes in the pots too during this time.

Now, I cant seem to get either right.
Both my in-ground and potted ones grew too leggy, didn't give much fruit--although they stayed alive. These were roma, big beef, early girls etc.

I don't usually mulch/compost, but I do water them correctly, fertilize them every 2-3 weeks with fish emulsion, give them 6+ hours of sunshine(morning sun usually), plant them deep, prune of the lower branches, stake them with support etc etc...

What should I do with
1. The in-ground soil? I do keep adding fresh bags and mixing it in every year.
2. The potted soil? This is fresh from 6 months ago and have had only 1 season of unsuccessful plants through it. Can I reuse it again?

In either case, I usually have very few issues with tomato diseases, or worms etc. Just didn't grow healthy thick stems with fruit.

Funny thing is the first year---I did none of this and I got over 30-40 tomatoes per plant--easy! :)

soil
Greener Thumb

Funny thing is the first year---I did none of this and I got over 30-40 tomatoes per plant--easy! Smile
sounds like you tried too hard, it happens to a lot of people. just concentrate on building a healthy soil and the plants will do all the hard work.
For all things come from earth, and all things end by becoming earth.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Leggy and not much fruit sounds like not enough sun. You said 6 hrs of sun, but mostly morning, that is about the minimum tomatoes can survive on.