recoveryjones
Newly Registered

New to the Forum and Organic Gardening

Hi Friends,

I'm new to organic gardening and new to this forum. I'm from Vancouver BC, Canada on the west coast.

I have 14 fiberglass planter boxes at my workpalce(3rd floor rooftop, downtown Vancouver) in which to grow organic vegetables in, commencing the New year.My Planter boxes are 6' long x 18" wide x 18" deep.I had a bumper crop(excellent summer that year) there 3 years ago, however, grew with chemical fertilizers.Organic vegetable gardening is a new thing to me and I hope to learn and share here.

I have four indoor rubbermaid vermicompost bins going each with a pound of red wriggler worms . I'm about to start an outdoor bin of compost as well.So far I have 10 huge orange garbage bags full of dried Mapleleafs, and endless amounts of organic kitchen scraps, coffee grounds, eggshells, cardboard, newspaper, grass cuttings etc etc at my disposal. I'm not lacking in any greens or browns for my 50/50 mix.

Tonight I got back from the Pacific Ocean near Stanley Park/English Bay and within 10 minutes I picked up a full garbage bag of seaweed mix.I would have grabbed more however, I thought Id' consult the experts here first.

Some Questions:

I plan on adding some of my indoor worms to my outdoor compost bin once things warm up a bit in the Spring.Will the salt on the seaweed harm the worms if I decide to use it, as I can allways give it a rinse first.

Also the seaweed I obtained is within the city limits, so no doubt the water is poluted somewhat. Is this a cause for concern?

Also, what percentage of seaweed should I add to the green 50% of the mix?Is the seaweed really beneficial additive to the compost?Can I add too much?

If I get the green light on this seaweed, the amount available to me is endless.

Anyways, that's what I'm basically about, so any comments appreciated.

Merry Christmas to all,
RJ

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb

Hi Recovery,