simegas
Newly Registered

Yellow Bell Peppers

Hi I'm a newbie...I have a Bell pepper plant that has started fruiting yellow peppers straight away is this normal or diseased? ..I was led to believe that the start out Green after flowering..Help please

Bobberman
Super Green Thumb

My yellow peppers are a white yellow at the very beginning! They are about half grown now in july in Pa.! I planted a pepper mix of seeds this year so I don't know what they all are yet!
I enjoy fishing ,gardening and a solar greenhouse! carpet installation repair and sales for over 45 years! I am the inventor of the Bobber With A Brain - Fishing Bobber!

jal_ut
Super Green Thumb

There is a very large variety of peppers. Yes, some start out yellow.
Gardening at 5000 feet elevation, zone 4/5 Northern Utah, Frost free from May 25 to September 8 +/-

simegas
Newly Registered

yellow bell peppers

Thank you for your replies !! :D ...My peppers are an almost transparent/pale yellow, and have purple patches to them :? also there is only one that is shaped like your typical bell pepper the others are elongated ... another bell pepper plant I have is green and they are perfect in colour and shape :D

Kitter
Newly Registered

I'm pleased to find this. I'm having the same issue. My peppers are also very pale yellow and quite elongated. They were mislabeled at the nursery when I bought the plants, and I thought I bought red peppers. Surprise! :o I have other pepper plants that are growing green, which is what I expected. I was a little worried, but this has eased my mind. :) I have yet to try one... will do so soon :D

simegas
Newly Registered

@ Kitter, Haha let me know how they taste you seem to have Identical peppers :o

cherishedtiger
Green Thumb

One thing I am learning with gardening, do not expect to grow exactly what you may find in the store.