CarterNox
Newly Registered

1st time composting!!

I'm very new to this, so I literally don't know ANYTHING about it. I've been doing some research but I get a little bit of varying and also not much detail.

I work on a farm and I am in a position to start new things or come up with new ideas. We are a crop farm and throw out a lot of produce that comes back from markets. When I say a lot I mean, we have one of those dumpsters that you would find at like fast food restaurants and each week we fill that about a quarter with old produce and also during the beginning of the year (flower season as we call it), we have a lot of old flowers we throw out also. I don't know much about this but it just seems like we could be doing something else instead of throwing it all away.

I like the idea of composting but my boss thinks things like this would take up too much time and are unnecessary. I disagree but I need information. I don't need someone to give me an entire class on this because I know people have better things to do but I need help. If anyone can point towards good topics or sites that lay it all out as if I was the dumbest person. I need a lot of guidance. Also if going through most of the topics in this forum will help I will do that to.

Well I guess thats about it. Thank you very much in advance and if there is any information such as what materials we have, what kinds of things we throw out, etc. I can give you all that no problem.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Agree with you, what a terrible waste and shame.

The question to make it work would be what do you have to put with it. Check out the sticky at the top of this thread re greens and browns. All the food and flowers you mention are "greens" (soft/ moist). Trying to pile them by themselves could result in a slimy, stinky mess.