lisapoe
Newly Registered

Will this layout work?

Hello all! I'm new to the gardening thing and am super late gettng one planted. I was wondering if this layout would work? Do I need to switch anything around? Thanks!

sugar snap peas (SSP)
tomatoes (T)
potatoes (P)
bush summer squash (SS)
bush beans (BB)
cucumbers (C)
acorn squash (AC)
beets (B)
dill (D)

SSP SSP SSP SSP SSP SSP

T T T T T T T T T T T T

P P P P P P P P P P P P P P P P

SS SS SS SS SS SS

BB BB BB BB BB BB BB BB
BB BB BB BB BB BB BB BB

C C C C C C C C

AC AC AC AC AC AC

BBBBBBBBB BBBBBBBB

DDDDDDDD DDDDDDDD

hit or miss
Green Thumb

Don't know why it wouldn't work! It would help if you would at least put your zone location in your profile. :D

nes
Green Thumb

I would move the cucumber and acorn squash farther apart, since they are both vining & you don't want them to get intertwined (I speak from personal experience, it works but it's annoying! especially since the squash vines are prickly).

You don't need that much dill. Trust me. One plant is PLENTY & I really like dill :). I have 5 plants because I have the room & I'm hopping to feed some swallowtail caterpillars again this year.

You don't have any carrots :( You need carrots! :)

I would also look into potato towers (search the forum) if you're limited for space.
Vanessa raising organic vegetables, livestock, wildflowers, and family in zone 5A.

lisapoe
Newly Registered

Sorry, I'm in north central Nebraska. As for the dill, I have a packet, so don't plant all of it? I'm planting it for canning pickles (another first) and have know idea how much I'll need. Thanks for the help!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

North central Nebraska probably means your season is behind mine. But the thing that will be most affected by the late start is the peas. They are a cool weather crop that really doesn't like it when it gets hot. You might want to save them and plant them late in the season for a fall crop.