mandamankins
Newly Registered

Raised Veggie Garden

Hi! I'm new to gardening, and plan to grow vegetables in a square foot raised garden bed. I've constructed the bed (from a kit) and attached chicken wire to the bottom so moles and other burrowing animals will not be able to burrow up through the bottom.

The raised bed is 4ftX4ft and 5.5 inches tall

My question is: do I need to till the grass and soil that will be under the raised garden bed?

Any help will be much appreciated!!

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

If it were mine, I would cover the area with 6-8 sheets of newspaper, then fill the beds with quality soil/compost mix.
Eclectic gardening style, drawing from 45 years of interest and experience. Mostly plant in raised beds and containers primarily using intensive gardening techniques.
Alex

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Agree, don't till. The point of the newspaper is just to be a weed barrier. Be sure to water the soil first and then water the newspaper well, then put down the bed and fill it. You want the newspaper to break down after it's done it's job of preventing the weeds in the ground from sprouting.
Twitter account I manage for local Sierra Club: https://twitter.com/CherokeeGroupSC Facebook page I manage for them: https://www.facebook.com/groups/65310596576/ Come and find me and lots of great information, inspiration

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

I did my first Square Foot Garden raised beds in Spring 2008. I believed Mel B in his 2005 revised edition when he said 6 inches was deep enough.

Not really...

You'll want at least 10, ideally 12, inches of depth for leafy/fruiting vegetables (think tomatoes, eggplant, squash, cucumber, etc.). If you'd like to grow carrots, parsnips, or other root veggies, 18 inches is better. I cheated and made part of the bed 10 inches deep and part of it 18 inches deep (for those who've kept track of my saga, this is Bed #1, out of concrete blocks, *not* filled with native soil :wink:).