Andrew D
Newly Registered

Clarification Questions

Hello Everybody,
My names Andy and I am new to both the forum and Bonsai. I have wanted one for some time now and thanks to my girlfriend now have one(well what hopefully can eventually be titled one in a few years). Here is the situation. She bought it from a store in the mall which sells them. She then had it in her living room for about a week. I got it yesterday and it was in my house that whole day and night. During that day I spent about 6 or 7 hours reading up on bonsai. I of course got worried after finding out if it stays inside it will die. I moved it outside in a dug in hole and surrounded it with leaves and then covered the top with a cardboard box. The hole is about 8 inches deep and about a foot wide. I was worried about it freezing and dieing. I know it is a Juniper and that they are pretty tolerable to most conditions. I live in St.Louis. The winter here ranges from below freezing to a few nice days where the temp might reach 50 or 60 degrees (there are only a handful of these). Last night it was about 25. Some nights it will dip below this however (I know that below about 15 degrees there are problems). I've been using the toothpick method the past two days to ensure it has adequate water and from what I can tell I don't see any discoloration. My questions are:

What do I do to take care of the little guy in the dormancy period out there?

Is the pot it is in now suitable? (I konw there may deep some issues with the possibility of it growing deep roots)

Should I try to change the soil? (it seems to have good layered soil, no glue junk)

Should I let it grow out for a little while before I attempt to start doing anything with it? (I'm not a fan of the windswept/ almost cascade thing it has going on. I wanted to do an informal upright eventually)