Teggie
Newly Registered

Looking for advice on herbs

Hi y'all,

This is a wonderful place! I am glad to find it. I live in North Texas and we have gotton in a garden state of mind, hehe.

I had decided to start an indoor herb garden, I am very new at gardening so I was prepared to mess up. I bought some of those Jiffy pellets and a dome tray to start the seeds. I planted the following seeds:

Cilantro
Parsley
Chives
Thyme
Sage
Oregano
Basil

I think I was too stingy with the seeds as only a few of each came up. Well except the parsley, it must be slow, it took a week longer to sprout. As soon as the seedlings were about 2 inches tall I transplanted them into little pots with some Miracle Grow potting soil that has plant food in it and set them in the kitchen near the window. It has been about 2 weeks now since I transplanted them.

Here is what I am encountering:

Cilantro: plants have grown maybye an inch since transplant, theres only a few plants. Overall it seems to be doing ok.

Parsley: Took a lot longer to get started, have a few plants, look ok for now, really not been potted long enough to comment

Chives: Have a couple of lil bunches, they are about 3 inches tall but looking a lil droopy

Thyme: had one single plant, it died after transplant, having to start it over

Sage: got two single plants, they both have grown about 2 inches but are still only one stem, plus they are looking droopy too.

Oregano: grew two lil bunches of these, they look like lil clusters of plants, only about 2 1/2 inches, don't seem to be growing very fast.

Basil: had two, one has died and the remaining one looks like it's not growing at all.

Sorry so winded, I'm just a lil frustrated at myself. Are herbs just really slow? Am I watering too much? I tend to only water when soil feels dry.
Just seems like they ought to be growing better.

Thanks for any advice, I'm such a noob at this
Teggie

opabinia51
Super Green Thumb