velvetmoonlight

Drought Resistant plants in Ohio (zone 6)?

I desire a low maintenance garden and I was wondering:
1. It never seems to address this in the books I read. If I planted drought-resistant plants and if it rain "too much" if they would die? I'm in Ohio, zone 6.
2. I'm not even sure what Ohio's rainfall even is. What is an reliable source to find this out?

I'm new to gardening. Thanks to those who reply!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Cincinnati rainfall

Hi! I'm in Cincinnati too. Our average rainfall is nearly 40 inches a year (!) fairly evenly distributed through the year. If you have desert type plants, they may or may not survive it, depending partly on how well drained your soil is. Along with all that rain, we tend to have very heavy yellow clay soil. So you need to mix in lots of organic matter to lighten it up and let it drain better. If your plants stay too wet, they can just curl up and die or they can get fungal diseases and then curl up and die.

But I have salvias, lavender, and other drought tolerant plants that do just fine as long as they are kept very well drained...

velvetmoonlight

Hi rainbowgardener. Thanks for the info. Good to know about the rain here and that I could do drought resistant plants, though maybe I don't need to!

The only thing I have is bushes and herbs so far. I am hoping for a low maintenance garden b/c I am pretty busy. Then when I have more time maybe I'll do a moon garden.

I wonder if I am being unrealistic about low maintenance gardening. Let me know if I am! I was hoping I could help the plants get "settled" in and then let the weather take care of it and all I would have to do is a little weeding if they come up. So that's why I was thinking drought resistant originally. I read somewhere to dig a hole 1 ft deep by 6 in. and pour water in it and depending on how fast it disappeared would tell me if I have good drainage or not. Would this be accurate enough? Thanks. :)

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb