aa17
Newly Registered

Can my garden/flowers be saved?

I'm very new to gardening. Earlier this spring I sprayed weed killer on the lawn to kill dandilions. It worked great. So after the past two weekends working on my garden, pulling weeds, making it look perfect, I decided to spray everything down with the same weed killer just to ensure that weeds wouldn't come back.

Needless to say my flower bed and vegetables are looking very sad two days after I sprayed. Here's the status of my plants.

Larger perennials - still standing and green - but I'm still worried about them

Impatients - flat on the ground almost certainly dead

Beautiful pink Maui habiscus that I just planted to show off to my fiance and her family when they come - still standing, flowers are shut and look sad, but still look like they are trying to bloom. The one flower that had bloomed when I planted it fell off the next day after spraying. I really hope I can save this plant because they didn't have any nearly as beautiful at the store.

Roma tomatoes, hot peppers, basil - still there but look weak. They look smaller, or maybe just more curled up than when I planted them. When the vegetables do grow, will I be safe to eat them?

Is there any hope for my flowers, plants, or vegetables? Do I have to get all new dirt if I need to replant?

Thank you.

Kisal
Mod Emeritus

Welcome to the Helpful Gardener forum. :)

Changing the soil probably won't do much, if any, good. Most weed killers that are sprayed on the foliage of the plant are absorbed through the leaves and stems. The sap of the plant moves the herbicide down into the roots, which also die. If you're already seeing damage to the leaves and stems, then the herbicide has been absorbed and is doing its work. IMO, it would be next to impossible to stop the progression of damage at this point, but of course, I could be wrong.

I'm very sorry to hear of your sad experience. :(