shazbham

What Am I Doing Wrong in my Vegetable Garden?

I'm fairly new to gardening, we kind of had a garden the past three years. First year we kind of tried at it at first then kind of gave up as time went on, last year was a down year where we only grew a few tomatoes, squash and cucumbers. This year we planted late but actually rented a rototiller and worked some land approximately 35" X 10', we added soil and manure that we bought at home depot and worked that in to the land.

We then planted the following plants we bought from home depot: regular red and cherry tomatoes, broccoli, strawberries(plus some plants came back from last year about 15 plants in all so far) & zucchini. Later we planted string beans, squash, green peppers and spinich we also bought at home depot. At the time we originally planted we also started a bunch of seeds in one of those black trays with the clear plastic cover. Most of them didn't take but we did get one carrot(we think), some corn and watermelon and a couple of mystery plants, the seedlings are all still very small but stil alive in the ground.

We have two gardens the main garden where the tomatoes, broccoli, squash, zucchini, strawberries, eggplant, cucumbers, some string beans, some corn, carrots, lettuce(we think) and the mystery plants are. In the back garden we have the potatoes (15 stalks so far), some string beans, watermelon, some corn and raspberries.