lwerbyj
Newly Registered

I'm a newbie.... please help!!

I've never planted a garden before. I'm planning on planting Zucchini, Cukes, Red Bell Peppers, Yellow Bell Peppers, Green Peppers and Tomatoes. Can anyone office some helpful advice? You know... do's and don'ts. Thanks in advance!!! :D

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

Draw a four foot circle around the zucchini and pant nothing nearer. Keep tomato plants at least three feet apart, and trim lower leaves so that they don't contact the ground. Throw a handful of lime in the bottom of the planting hole of the tomato and mix into the soil. Pay attention to tomato vine type, indeterminate or deteminate and support accordingly. Plant cucumbers in small groups of two or thee plants and give them a circle of at least six feet if you grow standard vine size plants. Cucumber appreciate late afternoon shade if available, or perhaps plant the tomatoes to the west of the cucumbers, and the tomatoes will give some shade. Bell peppers like to stay moist but not wet. A red bell pepper is simply a ripe green pepper. All bell peppers ripen from green to some other color, usually red, but anywhere from yellow, orange, red, black, and more. Anyway, there is not real reason to plant both a red and a green bell pepper as they are basically the same thing, but the reds are named varieties because of their superior color or other qualities.
Last edited by hendi_alex on Tue May 19, 2009 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Eclectic gardening style, drawing from 45 years of interest and experience. Mostly plant in raised beds and containers primarily using intensive gardening techniques.
Alex

chefshelle

One tip is not to overfertilize your pepper. They will just have nicer leaves, etc, but not produce as much of the vegetable.

One great tip for everyone...

How do you tell the difference between a male and female pepper?

By the number of humps on the bottom. Males have 3, females have 4.