activia
Newly Registered

Help - Installing New Lawn

Hi Everyone!

I am new to this forum but am working on a project that I have very little experience with and am a little confused.

So when I moved into my house I found that the previous owners and cleared a fairly decent side area in the back of the back yard. It is a little less than a quarter acre. When we moved in June 1st they didn't mow anything. So that area had weeds up to my shoulders growing. So this spring we wanted to clean it up and make it all a lawn.

I rented a brush cutter and cut down all the pricker bushed, there were tons! Then we rotatilled the entire area (just a once over).

We are bringing in a bobcat next weekend to level it off and make a downward grade away from the house with some some additional soil that they piled up. We do have a septic system back there btw.

Now I'm trying to decide if I should test the soil and get additives and manually remove all the rocks that the rotatille brought up or bring in 2-3 inches of loam and spread that.

Either way I plan to compact the soil after I am done and have a company spray the seeds.

Can you let me know what I should do and if I am missing or doing anything wrong?

Bestlawn
Cool Member

What shot out at me was your plan to compact the soil. Just allow the bobcat (or boxblade) to grade and slope the area. Afterward, you can smooth it out with a rake, which will leave grooves and is perfect for laying sod or seed. Which do you plan to do? Sod or seed?

You said you rototilled, so I'm wondering what is there left to spray? The weeds haven't grown back yet, have they?

Do get the soil tested, but wait until you have finished spreading soil/loam. That is what the grass has to grow into, so that is what should be tested (also). Other than regularly fertilizing, additives should be based on test recommendations.