Fraggle
Newly Registered

lettuce seedlings gone wrong :(

last week i transplanted my iceberg lettuce seedlings into indervidual containers as they were getting abit to big; but since then they have started to wilt :shock: they are watered regularly enough, and are in my green house so are getting enough sunlight, so i don't know whats up with them, could anybody help with any suggestions please? :)

applestar
Mod

I can't say I know anything for sure since this is my first year growing icebergs (I let DH talk me into it -- he told me he won't eat any other kind of lettuce :roll:) But I just hardened off and transplanted out my lettuce collection, so here goes. First, make sure you added extra lime or granite dust or wood ash to the soil mix as they don't like acid soil.

Now, from what I've seen, the classic iceberg -- I'm growing a variety called Summertime -- is more "delicate" than leaf lettuce, batavian, butterhead, or baby romaine. Even a red variety summercrisp (which is another name they use for icebergs since they got a bad rep for lower nutritional value) called Red Glacier has held up better to the two stages of pricking out/up potting and transplanting out I've done so far. All the others have resumed growing and are looking happy. Also, when we had a bit of warm weather, Summertime, despite it's name and reputation for heat resistance, looked wilty -- it perked up with a bit of misting and cheesecloth shade. :wink:

:lol: When we had a particularly windy day, one of the Summertime transplants got knocked down and lost a leaf when a bit of STRAW hit it. :roll:

Fraggle
Newly Registered

ah, i think i may know whats wrong then. im pretty new to gardening so not to smart on the PH of soils haha!