Pepperfreak
Newly Registered

1st time Habanero grower

Hello all, newbie here!

I have alway been a lover of spicy foods, I actually make my own habanero hot sauce at home, and it's all I use for everything, best stuff I've ever had. I've been wanting to go hotter though. The variety I've been using has been the run-of-the-mill (Orange Habanero) kind, but not quite getting the heat I've been looking for. I have ordered some Red Savina Habanero seeds (2nd hottest in the world)(Bhut Jolokias sold out right now), and have already done extensive research on cultivating my own little mini pepper farm.

From all the research I've done, and all the specifics I have received, I am led to believe that Habaneros are not exactly as sturdy as other Chile plants, and most Capsicum Chinense variety are harder to grow. Now the seeds I have ordered are much more expensive than just any pepper seed, and I want to make sure everything is right, but I'm also going to need a LOT of peppers, so I want to make sure I have a large yield per plant, as well as ensuring they hit close to their peak of 577,000 SHU. (that statement may sound weird, but it has been recorded that even New Mexico State U Chile Institute was only able to reach 200,000SHU with Red Savinas, 1/3 of their potential)

So my 1st 3 questions for helpful gardeners(as I'm sure there will be many more):
1)is it true that Capsicum Chinense are tough to grow to their full ability?

2)In my busy lifestyle (and inexperience with plants as I have killed many), the watering regiment...: soil should never be dry, but never soggy, ....has anyone used the "watering globes" do they work well?