Budster
Newly Registered

Need an expert opinion on tomato plants in containers....

I know you're supposed to have just one plant per 5gallon container ( recommended at at least ). However I have a few 5 gallon containers right now with two cherry tomato plants in each one. Litterally growing side-by-side in the same pot. Thing is.......nothing seems to be wrong with them AT ALL........No signs of competing with each other or stress. They look healthy as ever. Now all the plants are at the budding stage.

My question is...........should I still sacrafice one of the plants in each pot for the sake of the other ??...........I'm of the opinion that if something ain't broke.....don't try to fix it.

Alex6015

Well don't sacrifice it. You could repot it but I'm no expert.

Christine1950

I agree with removing the 1 plant and putting it in its own container. The roots will be too much for one 5 gal container as they grow bigger. I made that mistake once and the plants did not produce they way they should have.
Christine :wink:

hendi_alex
Super Green Thumb

I have concern over moving the plant to another container. It probably should be sacrificed because one plant will grow more vigorously and should produce more fruit and fuit of higher quality than would be the case with two crowded plants in the same container. Sometimes when my tomatoes are in full production in the heat of the summer, even five gallons becomes marginal unless set up with drip irrigation on a timer.