Matt_09

New Plants and Ideas

Umm.... hi, I'm new to the Bonsai community and also, I'm young and inexperienced in this Japanese art so I don't know much. I've been wanting a Bonsai tree ever since I saw one in this documetary on Japanese culture. So, I went to look for some suitable looking plants and I found three, two Coniferous Pines, ( I have no idea what their names are) and a little offspring of my Deciduous tree thats in front of my house.(don't know either) So I'm having some trouble with that but anyways, I would like to make them into Bonsai. I'm not very clear with the soil. Their not really at the pruning and styling age so yeah... I don't know if I should put them into the Bonsai type soil yet. I put them into soil near my shrubs but then I put them into a mixture of coarse sand, potting soil, and some natural soil that is found here and planted them in a pot, I just leave them to be watered by rain since their used to it. And I simply don't know what to do.
(Sorry for this being so long.)
Thank-you for reading, all help and suggestions are deeply appreciated.

Gnome
Mod

Matthew,

Hello and welcome to the forum.
I'm new to the Bonsai community and also, I'm young and inexperienced in this Japanese art so I don't know much.
We all had to start somewhere so don't be discouraged. It has been said that in bonsai the young have the time but no patience and the old have patience but little time. If you start young you have a lifetime to learn.

I too began at an early age but unfortunately I did not stick with it uninterrupted over the years. This is my third go round with bonsai and due to the guidance I gained on-line I feel that I finally am getting somewhere.