sonataq14
Newly Registered

vine pruning question...new member needs help

Hi,
I am new to growing grapes. I just planted my first 6 plants last year. They are Somerset grapes. This year they are all coming in strong. Here is my question....as the vine is growing (I have been pruning off the secondary vines growing off of the primary vine), and the height of the vine reaches the top of my 6-foot high trellis, then I am training the vine to go horizontally (split in 2 directions forming a "T" shape). The horizontal part of the vine (on both left and right sides) is now reaching about 6-feet long. I think this is as long as I am supposed to allow it to grow. is this true? If so, do I prune the end off the vine so it doesn't grow any longer? Please let me know what I do at this point...lots of details please! I apologize for not knowing all the correct names and terminologies for everything yet...I'm trying to learn. Thank you for any help that you can offer.

JONA
Greener Thumb

So far...so good sonataq.
As to length. Vines can grow to a very long length if you want them to. Our own Ruby’s are around twenty feet long. So, just stop them when you are satisfied they are useing all the space you can spare.
Then allow side shoots to develope along each of the main primary vines.

In the winter cut these side shoots back to two buds from the main vines.
( its usual to leave two buds so that if you suffer from an early frost damage..there is a replacement bud there to take over.)
These new buds will grow into side shoots and should soon produce a flower truss. Trim them off one or two leaves beyond the truss

If a branch does not produce a truss after several leaves trim the side shoot back as any truss forming after this distance is sure to be in the way.

JONA
Greener Thumb

F424C7F9-9E3E-4060-BDA5-CE6B8D5464C3.jpeg

Gives you this effect.

sonataq14
Newly Registered

JONA wrote:So far...so good sonataq.