wigglywart
Newly Registered

Is it Ok that Concord Grapes are Covered in Ants?

Hi everybody, my girlfriend and I stumbled onto your forum and we loved it so much we signed up!

Anyway I am very new to gardening and for concord grapes as well.
My grapes are a year old

I have what I think is ants on my vines but they only seem to flock to the very new growth. So, is this a matter I should be concerned with?
They don't appear to be doing any damage just making babies.

And If I need to remove them what exactly do I need to use, from what I understand it's to late to fertilize them?

I took a picture and I uploaded it so you could see.
Look forward to learning, with everyone these grapes are my babies! lol
Much thanks in advance

Here is a picture I took so yall can see
[img]https://i944.photobucket.com/albums/ad285/Mike_Longwell/100_1601.jpg[/img]

JONA878
Greener Thumb

Hi Wiggly.
Look closely at your picture and you can see that amongst the ants are some aphids ( Green fly).
It's these that are attracting the ants.
The ants care for and protect the aphids from other insects that feed on them and in return the aphid provide a sticky sugar like substance that the ants love.
Kill the aphids with a soap spray and the ants will go.

JONA878
Greener Thumb

Sorry Wiggly...I should have pointed out that the term Greenfly does not mean that the aphid is necessarily green !!
The ones in your photo I think are a straw coloured variety.

wigglywart
Newly Registered

Thanks for your fast reply!
I don't understand when you say soap spray.
So can I use like dish soap or is there certain soap I am suppose to use?
And, is there a certain mixture or just a couple of drops of dish soap in water?

JONA878
Greener Thumb

wigglywart wrote:Thanks for your fast reply!
I don't understand when you say soap spray.
So can I use like dish soap or is there certain soap I am suppose to use?
And, is there a certain mixture or just a couple of drops of dish soap in water?
Hi Wiggly.