adsfadsfd
Newly Registered

long (?) raised bed

I'm rather new to vegetable gardening. I have three 4 by 4 raised beds. I was thinking of doing a 4 by 12 raised bed. This will save wood and maybe simplify watering. I thought I should check with those with more experience. Are there any disadvantages to something as long as 4 by 12? Would the screws at the corners hold? Should I use rebars (I don't use rebars for my 4 by 4)? I'm not ready to use cedar yet. All my three raised beds are made with untreated fir boards. They are three years old and still OK. From their conditions, I think they should last about 5 years. Thanks for your advice.

PaulF
Greener Thumb

I love raised beds. Once had 4'X16' beds made from railroad ties. Kept hearing how that was toxic, but I never had any problem. Moved to another state and made some 4'X8' beds using 2'X12" treated lumber as the sides with 2"X2" posts at the corners held with screws. That did very well for about 8 years before my wife wanted something else in that spot. The lumber was still pretty good and got reused in another project.

Gary350
Super Green Thumb