RBalboa
Newly Registered
Location: San Diego, CA Hardiness zone 10a/b (right in between)

Raised bed sun protection

Hi all! New to forum, and have done a cursory search for topics regarding sun protection (protecting vegetable plants in raised bed from scorching sun), but did not see any obvious threads - so, my apologies if this is a redundant post!

(Brief intro). I live in San Diego, CA & have 4 raised beds. Hardiness zone 10a/b. They have full sun exposure. This is my first year with the raised beds, and I do plan on vegetable gardening (tomatoes, peppers, carrots, root vegetables, cucumber, squash, etc). Tomatoes started from seed 1/1/2017, in the raised beds 3/1/2017, and already have red fruit (albeit early girl variety).

I can already anticipate that the direct San Diego sun will be causing major issues with my plants, come summer especially. I want to know if there are any recommended methods to create protection from sun? Sun shades/netting? What type of support do I use? Pictures would be super helpful. And I'd be happy to attach pics of the raised beds if that would be helpful. And let me know if I can provide any further info. (Tomatoes are a mix of determinate & indeterminate varieties.)

-RBalboa
Attachments
IMG_1781.JPG

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

One of the nice thing about growing in beds like that is that it is very easy to provide whatever kind of protection you need. Currently mine are all fenced in to keep the dogs from digging them up. But I'm about to throw deer netting over the fence around the strawberry bed, to keep birds from the berries.

You can get hoops for raised beds in a variety of sizes:

For smallish plants I have used the wire frames that political yard signs come on, which have the advantage of being free, if there's an election coming up! :)