toddlermom
Newly Registered

Florida--am I too late?

Hi everyone,
I've been slowly researching ways to start a raised bed vegetable garden in my backyard in Tampa Bay, Fl. I have a huge backyard with no shade.
I'm a total novice. I have no supplies, nothing. :P
I want to do a small raised bed. I've looked online about covering the ground with cardboard to kill the weeds and then adding soil. However, how long after I do this can I then start to plant seeds?? No one seems to mention this step online. I'm super excited about starting a Florida fall/winter garden, but now I am worried that I waited too long and I won't have time now!? :x
Thanks!!
Anyone else in Florida?

ButterflyLady29
Greener Thumb

I'm not in Florida but I've done raised beds. You can plant right after filling the bed. And depending on what you plant you should have plenty of time. Here in the cold frozen north it's still too hot to plant many fall crops, like lettuce, radishes, and spinach.

toddlermom
Newly Registered

ButterflyLady29 wrote:I'm not in Florida but I've done raised beds. You can plant right after filling the bed. And depending on what you plant you should have plenty of time. Here in the cold frozen north it's still too hot to plant many fall crops, like lettuce, radishes, and spinach.
So I don't need to give it time for the cardboard to decompose?? That is great, then!

applestar
Mod

In spring when the soil is has thawed but is still cold -- around 50°F at most, I felt that 6 weeks is a good period of time to wait for planting. However, the ground is warm or hot now, so decomposition, etc. microbial activity happens very quickly. I'm thinking 3-4 weeks might be sufficient to plant as deep as the cardboard (started plants like tomatoes and peppers). Just cut an X in the cardboard to plant as deep as you need.