Mommyoftwo

New to gardening

I am very new to gardening. We just moved into a place that has a designated garden area we have to clean out and make fresh again. I want to grow a variety of vegetables but I'm trying to start small. I bought a bunch of seeds that I did not think would grow and surprise... all of them are. Now I am going to buy a couple of the small raised beds at home depot and plant within the next week or two but do not know where to start. Any advid gardeners will g to school me on the in and outs of raised bed gardening.

Oh by the way in 4 month pregnant with a 2 year old and my husband will need to help me. I know I probably bit off more than I can chew but still :)

AnnaIkona
Greener Thumb

Welcome to the forum :) I'm a mother of two youngsters as well!
In most areas, it's time to plant seeds, so feel free to ask any questions if you have any about your seedlings!
As raised beds need lots if soil, I would order delivered bulk soil from a landscaper for very cheep ($10 /yard)
Once again, welcome!

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

"... a bunch of seeds ... a couple of the small raised beds"

Maybe you should think about spacing :). With good, fertile soil and attention to water requirements, you could try this:
hexagonal-planting_kindlephoto-463267790.jpg
hexagonal-planting_kindlephoto-463267790.jpg (30.88 KiB) Viewed 8880 times
Generally, you can follow a "distance between plants" guide and ignore the "distance between rows." As you become familiar with garden plants, you will be able to imagine the size of them at maturity.

Harvest them at maturity. You might be really "upping" the vegetable part of your diet during some weeks ;). Replace them with other vegetables! Bush beans are good for succession since they can grow during the summer. Fall greens work for me ... after the time when green beans will not have time to produce. Keep your beds full! You might even be able to do that right through the winter, there in central California.

Steve