boba7523
Newly Registered

Sun & Pest Advice for Raised Bed Vegetable & Fruit Garden

Hi everyone,

My name's Peter and I am from Sunny Southern California (Los Angeles to be exact). I am completely new to gardening but would like to start my own vegetable/fruit garden in my backyard. This seems like the right place to learn and I'm very excited to be here!

I plan on making divided raised beds horizontally across the rear of my backyard (behind the stones) to plant different kinds of vegetables/fruits.

1.) How many hours of sunlight must the area get for optimal vegetable/fruit growth?

2.) There is a very severe problem of flys in my area, and they basically surrounded the two loquat plants you see in the far right of the picture, causing us to have to trim the branches and get rid of the fruits. Is there any way of preventing the fliys from approaching my vegetable garden?

3.) Will planting vegetables/fruits attract even more ants? If so, do I spray the roots of the vegetable plants with pesticide?

4.) To my current very limited knowledge, I know that I basically add dirt + compost and plant my plant in there, water it based on type of plant it is ... What other things should I watch out for?

Cheers!

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

To start with coming in to summer, if you are in a hot summer area, might be a tough time to be starting fruits and veggies. I don't know how close to the coast you are, so how hot your summer is.

Where I am, I would say most veggies and fruits do best with at least 8 hrs full sun. But if you are in hot dry summer part of SoCal, a lot of things would probably benefit from some shade from hot afternoon sun. Is the area you are talking about next to the fence, where the shrubs are now? If so, does the fence shade it? Or are you talking about in front of that, where grass is now.