PurpleSprout
Newly Registered

Blue Oyster contamination?

I am growing Blue Oyster Mushrooms in buckets with straw. This is my first time, as I wanted to try it out after hearing about it online. My spawn grain has been in my straw for 2 weeks. I took a peek because I thought it should have been pinning by now. It looks like it has spread to the straw but needs more time. Either way, I found some black in it and I post two examples of what I am seeing below. I am concerned it is contaminated... but I have read that Blue Oysters are aggressive and confine other molds, "pee" on them and absorb them? But I have also heard of people saying if you find black, they need tossed. I am going to give my buckets more time and see what they do, but I was wondering if there is something I should do about it or just leave it? Is it a problem? I don't want to lose edible mushrooms. They smell the same as the day I opened the grain spawn which had no discoloration.
Thanks so much.

applestar
Mod

I haven’t done this in a while so there are probably others with more recent experience….

I realize I don’t know anything about blue oysters. I’m assuming these are supposed to have white mycelial mat like regular ones. And the white clump you’re showing looks good to me.

But IMHO, if nothing else, I would excise (remove) the portion that are black patches, being careful not to allow any spores to spread — probably expose as you have shown, then reach in with gloves liberally sprayedwith alcohol and gently basket/cup the black along with extra margin (at least 1 inch all around) of surrounding straw, and then use sterilized scissors to cut off the excess straw sticking out of gloves hand.

Did you pasteurize your straw before inoculating?

PurpleSprout
Newly Registered

applestar wrote:
Fri Apr 14, 2023 9:34 am
I haven’t done this in a while so there are probably others with more recent experience….