JayPoc
Greener Thumb

New package, queen present, but there's a supercedure cell

I've asked for opinions from my local beekeepers association (I'm a member), but I figure more opinions can't hurt. I'm a novice.

Backstory is I installed a package on Easter Sunday. The queen was released by last Thursday, when I removed the empty cage. Upon my inspection today, I saw plenty of capped and uncapped brood, a healthy queen, AND an emergency/supercedure cell. I think I'm going to cull the emergency cell and see if the current queen is now making everyone happy. Thoughts?

here's the good queen:

But here's the supercedure cell:

imafan26
Mod

If you have a healthy queen that is not sick or have any other problems the queen will take care of the cell. Since it takes 24 or 25 days for queen to emerge from a 4 day old egg and Easter Sunday was 12 days ago, the supercedure cell was probably started when the hive was queenless. Removing the supercedure cell would probably be o.k. too.

JayPoc
Greener Thumb

So...I just learned a valuable albeit slightly painful lesson. I had been working my bees without smoke or the gloves for the most part, because they've been very calm since they've been here. Yesterday, I went out to remove that queen cell. It was hot here, and when I opened the hive the bees sounded much louder than usual. I should have gone back for my smoker and gloves, but I soldiered ahead. I got hit twice on the hand, and they were harassing me pretty good. And I'm sure I crushed a few bees in my haste to get everything back together. Hopefully, I didn't squish my queen....especially now that I removed a queen pupa that was in the works...

imafan26
Mod