sniffs
Cool Member

Need some advice on some pepper plants.

So I have been growing peppers for a few years now. You guys have been great with some of the advice. When I started I was growing in tiny pots but was told to get bigger pots on a number of occasions and its worked. I now have some large pepper plants and some I've kept throughout the winter for almost 2 years now!

So I need some advice again. All my peppers are in pots with large 5+ gallon pots, some in real large 15-20 gallon pots. I realize that the soil gets used up and it's not practical to change the soil out so like 3 months back I took like the top few inches of soil off all my plans and replaced it with fresh soil. Then every other month I've been using miracle grow formula in lite doses.

3 Pepper plants in particular I'm worried there's something wrong with them. My scorpion 7pot has drooping, wilted feeling leaves AND stems, the step tips are drooping. The water meter says the soil is "wet" so I've been holding back on watering. I havent watered it like 3-4 days now. Temperature has been in the 60-80's(southern california).

Here's my 7pot that is having this wilt issue
7pot.JPG
Here's my carolina reaper. I've had this plant for 2 years now and have yet to get ANY peppers from it. The buds grow real tiny then shrivel up and die.
carolinareaper.JPG
And here's my ghost pepper. It's in a huge 10 gallon bucket and the plant is huge and just now starting to grow baby flowers, but all the leaves look like this and are tucking under.
ghostpepper.JPG

applestar
Mod

I think you might be having mite infestation problem. For me, the clues are the dusty appearance along the stems and the fact that the growing tender leaves are stunted and look browned/dried up. There are several different kinds of mites that might be culprit.