kafine
Newly Registered

Sad pepper, happy pepper - Growing Indoors

Hello! I am new to gardening and this year I have made my first go at peppers.

Here's a picture of some of my plants, and a question about the different behaviours.

Bell peppers on the left, jalepenos on the right.

As you may or may not be able to see, the jalepeno is pert and flowering (and fruiting!). But the bell pepper is making much larger and darker leaves and has an overall droopy appearance. It makes buds, but they get jettisoned before blooming. I am not sure what the problem could be.

Do the plants have very different needs that I'm not respecting because it appeared to work fine for the jalepenos?

- They get a few hours of full sun, by that window
- It can get pretty warm in that room, on hot days
- They get watered in the morning, and a second time in the afternoon only if they need it.
- I add a little bit of fertiliser to the water on an occasional basis.

The heat was a problem for a while; the buds started on both plants right at the height of summer and every one was jettisoned. But once we started to get some fresher days, the jalapeno immediately started producing fruit. Does a bell pepper prefer it cooler than a jalepeno does?

I wondered if the fertiliser might not be appropriate for the plant; I don't really know anything about it. If I were overdoing it, would it make the plant limp and leafy?

imafan26
Mod

Most peppers like the temps between 70-80 degrees F. Much higher than 85 and the blossoms will drop. Hot peppers will produce longer in hotter weather and some of the frutescens species can live for years, unlike bell peppers which will only live one season.

Peter1142
Green Thumb

How big are those pots? If you need to water once or twice a day and the plants are indoors, they are probably too small.

Idk if you can grow bell peppers on a windowsill. I don't think you can...

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb