hotpepperlover
Newly Registered

still no pepper!

Hello everybody, I am new in this nice informative forum and in gardening as well. For the first time I started a little gardening this year. I bought about 6 pepper plants (ghost, habanero and some other hot pepper), two tomato plants, one eggplant around first week of May. After observing about 4 weeks I pruned all the plants and started giving water soluble plant food since their growth was too slow. Till today I see very small blooming on pepper and tomato plants. the eggplant has five small flowers.
Its mid July here in Louisville, KY and we are getting frequent rainfall and cloudy weather most of the time. The plants are on 13 gal pod outside of my apt. They get around 7 hours of direct sunlight in full sunny day. But we barely having full sunny days this year.

I am wondering will I ever get enough pepper and tomato from my plants since they just started flowering.

elisevmtw
Newly Registered

Flowers are great signs of what is to come! I live in Iowa and all of my plants are flowering right now. Some are producing actual fruit -though none that I can harvest yet. I think you are on the right track - just be patient. Your plants will give you signs if they aren't healthy - dry or yellow leaves, etc.

Welcome to gardening! It takes time.

GardeningCook
Greener Thumb

One question - why the pruning? Except for pinching off flowers & early peppers from slightly over-mature seedlings at planting time, I've never heard of pruning pepper &/or eggplants before.

hotpepperlover
Newly Registered

I pruned because the plants were not growing fast and there were no branches. After pruning I am getting so many branches.

applestar
Mod

What does this mean?
The plants are on 13 gal pod outside of my apt

GardeningCook
Greener Thumb

I'm guessing 13-gallon "pots"?

applestar
Mod

But "pod" singular -- all of them?

imafan26
Mod