james622
Newly Registered

trying some new peppers this year

Expanding my garden this year making room for some more peppers. I just ordered some Carolina reapers, habaneros, and ghost seeds. I'm fairly new to gardening this will be my fourth year I have done decent with the jalapeno types just wondering if y'all have any tips on growing these?

imafan26
Mod

The Ghost peppers, do not germinate well unless it is warm. Either use a heat mat or wait until the temperature is 80 degrees. Habaneros are less fussy. You must like hot peppers. These are the super hots.

Pepper gal recommended germinating some of the harder to germinate seeds with potassium nitrate, salt petre. Stump remover usually contains potassium nitrate 1 tsp in a quart of warm water. Soak seeds 4-8 hours before germinating.

james622
Newly Registered

I love hot peppers lol now the reapers idk bout eating them thanks for the Info I've never used a heat mat before I'll have to give it a try

pepperhead212
Super Green Thumb

Welcome to the forum James!

I always soak my pepper seeds overnight in that saltpeter solution mentioned above by imafan26. I have had a 2 oz container of it for over 20 years, as I only make 2 c of it each season, using 1/2 tsp saltpeter. I did a test in the beginning, soaking some with and some without, and most varieties germinated a little sooner with. I also keep my seeds at ~90°, and the germination is much better this way.

You will want to start those superhot seeds earlier than most, as they are much later, as a rule. Even most habaneros are fairly late, with many not ripening until 110 days or later (well into Sept., for me here). I start my superhots around 2-7, while most peppers I start on 4-1, to give you an idea of the difference.

james622
Newly Registered

Thanks for the tips very helpful

Mian5

I'm expanding my garden as well with more peppers. This will be my first year growing in the ground instead of containers.