PunkRotten
Greener Thumb

Recommend a good sweet pepper variety

Hello,

I am hoping to grow another 2-3 different sweet peppers next year. I am growing 10 variety of peppers now. Most are hot peppers, and the few sweets I have I am getting bored of them. Some varieties I might try are Marconi (red or gold) and Corno di Toro. I like sweet peppers for salads, fresh eating/snacking, frying/roasting for pita sandwiches/wraps. Any varieties you could recommend? If you have any for trade let me know. I got a bunch of different hot and sweet peppers I could trade you.

Thanks

gunsmokex
Cool Member

Hmm I'm new at all of this its my first year trying gardening but I'm not a real fan of hot peppers so I bought a bunch of mild peppers called "fooled you" I love them they taste like green pepper with just a tiny hint of hotness yet turn out looking exactly like jalapeno peppers.

gixxerific
Super Green Thumb

Corno di Toro is my favorite this year. On my pepperheads group on Facebook it a is favorite as well.

Mysterious Gardener
Newly Registered

Have you considered growing mini sweet peppers? I've grown mini bell chocolat/red/yellow and tinkerbell this year, and they're great as snacks or to fill with cheese.

Harvest was about 10-15 per plant.

imafan26
Mod

I like banana peppers. They are easier to grow, crisp and a good frying pepper. They just do better than bells.

digitS'
Super Green Thumb

I have grown some of these.

The "red" Marconi never made it to red in my garden. I harvested them green, late in the season. They may just be "regular" Marconi and described differently by different seed companies. One of my favorites!

Corno di Toro must have been just about the most productive pepper I've ever grown. However. . . the strain I had were thin-walled. I wasn't too happy with that. Banana peppers (sweet) were nearly as prolific and I like them real well.