beth777

Marigold Ideas

I recently bought a house with a pool. Around the pool is all dirt and I have been trying to research and find the best plants to plant around it. I live in Columbus, Ga, which is south of Atlanta so it does get very hot here. There is shade in the morning and then full sun after that. I would really like to plant marigolds along the side. The space is 63' x 3'. My question is what can I plant behind the marigold and/or in front of them? I am on a budget so please keep that in mind. I am open to all suggestions. Just something pretty that doesn't break the bank that includes marigolds. I am so exhausted from researching and just need a little guidance. This is my first house and landscaping task so I'm new to all of this.

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

OK.... marigolds are true annuals, which means they have to be replanted every year. 63 feet is a long stretch to keep re-planting. The marigolds will self seed somewhat, but they come back later in the season than you might plant them and you have to keep it weeded, so they don't get out competed by weeds.

Are they the dwarf, short marigolds? If they are tall, it would be harder to grow something behind them. Perennials to plant behind short marigolds that should do well with your hot afternoon sun and come in similar color ranges to marigolds include butterfly weed, blanket flower, black eyed susan, coreopsis.

If you didn't want to replant marigolds every year, ice plant is a low growing ground cover that handles those conditions and comes in similar colors:

another perennial substitute for the marigolds would be hardy geraniums (these are not the big geraniums they commonly sell everywhere, which are actually pelargoniums), but the hardy geraniums come in pinks, purples, white, not the yellows and oranges of marigold.