Newly Registered
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:25 am

Dicentra Scam? Please advise

Hello there, good people of the forum.

I am wondering if you could advise me, I have found some seeds for colored dicentra on Etsy.com. They come in black, yellow, lavender, and true blue. Thing is, they're being sold as seed. Could it be possible to grow these plants and have them come up as advertised? Or, as I am thinking, are they hybrids and the seeds will not grow true? I can't find any reviews that are negative, but to be fair the reviewers never seem to review after the plant has grown, just as the seeds come in.

Here's some links to what I'm talking about:

https://www.etsy.com/listing/231909753/ ... hop_review

https://www.etsy.com/listing/231707190/ ... ome_feat_4

Greener Thumb
Posts: 1031
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:12 am
Location: central Ohio

Re: Dicentra Scam? Please advise

I did a little searching on the net and found the sapphire only listed by sellers of seed. All seemed to have the same picture of the flowers. I know it naturally comes in red, pink and white. It's one of those gambles that you have to decide for yourself. I, personally wouldn't risk it.

Return to “Flower Gardening & Garden Design”