T-Mo
Newly Registered

Brand New Gardener starting BIG! Annual Cutting Garden

WARNING: LONG POST
As the title suggests I am brand new to this, I've never grown a thing in my life and I am coming into this wanting to go big.

Over the weekend my son (4 years old) saw some flowers and weeds in our weed ridden lot and said he wanted to pick flowers for mommy <3. Mom and I have been split for a few months now and I figured what the hell, I need to teach him to act on his feelings for others so I did some research. I learned the basics of bouquet arrangement from YouTube and asked him to pick out the flowers he thought mommy would like. We made a bouquet and I was pleasantly surprised at how fun it was to select the flowers, put them together and complete the arrangement - the end result wasn't too shabby either, for wild flowers and weeds that is. The point is that I loved it so much I want to make it a permanent hobby!

My vision is to have a beautiful annual garden that neighbours can pay to come meet and select the flowers they want as part of their arrangement. I have a lot of gardening space but I'm going to start with a flower bed that runs along the entire back and side of the house. Here in lies my predicament. There is a lot of work that needs to be done as the lawn and old flower bed hasn't been taken care of for what seems like years, and I fear I am too late to start planting my annuals even if I got all the work done by the end of the month.