PunkRotten
Greener Thumb

Growing Tulips??

Hello,
So I got a hold of 3 tulip bulbs. I know nothing about growing them. I was doing a little reading and from what I gather I should put the bulbs in the fridge for 12 weeks. Or, I could put them in the ground and wait until spring. As far as lighting and water, they want full sun and not too much water (rarely watering). Is this right?? And I was reading they prefer a mostly sandy soil with some organic matter. There's one problem I face though, there are gophers here and other critters that might eat the bulbs. So, I was thinking about growing them in vases. I seen some pictures online of some people doing this. Anyway, I have no experience growing them but I'd like to give them a shot. I'd appreciate some growing tips you might have. Thank you

rainbowgardener
Super Green Thumb

Well for most of the US, we would just put them in the ground now. But there in Monterey, it never gets very cold (mid to low 40's deg F). They say tulip bulbs need eight to 15 weeks of chilling between 35 and 45 deg F. That means accumulated chilling time. So if some days get warm, they don't count towards the minimum 8 wks of chilling. It looks like where you are it would be very borderline whether it would get enough chilling, just planted in the garden.

So you could pre-chill it in the fridge. But understand that doesn't mean just putting the bulb in the fridge. All you are doing then is cold storage. To count, the bulb has to be planted in moist (but NOT wet, barely damp is more like it) potting soil, then the whole thing-- bulb, soil, and container--wrapped in plastic and refrigerated.