HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

Conveying Energy in Landscape Design

I'm an artist so it is not surprising that I found this article to be very interesting. I want to share it with you in case you might find it inspiring:

https://www.finegardening.com/conveying-energy-landscape

imafan26
Mod

It is similar to Feng Shui.

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb

That's what I was thinking, but I wasn't sure because I don't know very much about Feng Shui.

imafan26
Mod

I only know a few things from a seminar
Water should flow toward the house to bring good chi in
Entrances should have soft plants not spikey ones. Spikes, thorns are unwelcoming
Red attracts. Red leaved plants should line the path to the door and a door painted red makes the entrance more visible.
Mirrors to reflect- There are places to put mirrors to reflect bad chi back onto itself.
You want to balance the five elements in nature wood, water, metal, fire, and earth,
Key features are mountains, greenery and water. Raised berms can represent the mountains, while shrubs and trees are the greenery and water can be a fountain, pool, or birdbath or if you don't actually want a water feature you can create a dry riverbed with smooth round stones instead to represent water.
Fire would be represented by lanterns, torches, firepits
Metal = wind chimes, planters, arbors
Wood = wooden bridges, arbor, planters, box, bench.
You want flow in the garden with curved pathways and layering without obstructing, you don't want to see fallen branches or obstructions in your path and you want to layer plants so that their is an unobstructed view from multiple angles, but at the same time the view changes subtly when seen from a different angle. the path winds and is wide enough for two to walk comfortabley side by side. You want to abvoid a narrow path and sharp corners. If you have to go around the corner make the path wider otherwise you unconsiously will walk farther out to avoid the corner.

HoneyBerry
Greener Thumb