sagedavis

help decorating with vines or other "crawling" pla

Hi,
as mentioned in another post, I am fairly new to "real" gardening. Other than throwing a few plants into the flower bed, with no thought on design.

Mostly because, I had usually rented, or moved around quite a bit, and didn't want to bother with stuff that I was just going to leave behind.

I have struggled for 2 years now getting the inside of my house to look the way I want it to, painting and so forth, and am now working on the outside.

I live just outside of austin tx 76574 (zip), and have no clue what zone I am in or even how zoning works, and so on.

I am a wonderful cook, and use a lot of store baught herbs in my daily life. So, I thought it would be nice to do an herb garden (italian herbs mostly with some of my other faves).

Currently, I am working with some mint and some rosemary in pots, and using them sparingly as days pass.

I have found the perfect place in my yard for my garden, and I would like to start breaking ground and getting it all ready for next season. So, I am getting several plants now which I can take clippings of, or move inside for the winter months.

I know, that's a long explination. Now to my real question.

I would like to make this area as nice to look at, as it will be to eat from. I had lived, at one point, with some friends who had planted a wisteria which clung to a sort of archway to their garden, however, I am not so sure that I want to go that rout, just something similar.

The requirements are that they produce some pretty blooms, and that they don't actually overtake anything.

Wisteria was a problem because it grew like crazy and it would start to take over the lawn. I am looking for something that I can train and controll much easier, which also might add a nice floral smell to the air.

Any thoughts?
Thanks in advance
Sage

Jess
Greener Thumb

Hi Sage :D
It says on your profile that you are zone 8. Are you just guessing?