Lakerhater
Newly Registered

New Gardener . . . New House . . . What would you plant?

Hello,

I have recently moved into a quaint (aka needs a lot of work) home in the Los Angeles area. I have little gardening experience. The exterior of the home was not taken of and I have stripped out a lot of dying/dead plants and have essentially a blank canvas in which to work with. I find myself going to the nursery but I get scared to pull the trigger on purchases having little experience in this world. So I am asking for help. What would you plant in these areas?

Front door:

I tore out some grotesque shrub and have hidden the dirt with planters. I could leave the planters or remove them. The soil here is very compact, theres not a lot of area and there are pipes and such not that far underneath the soil.

Front door to the right:

I put in that mexican feather grass and planted roughly 300 bulbs throughout the bed (which you can see sprouting a little). I have room to plant a small amount next to the feather grass.

Front of house:

There were two shrubs like the one on the left in the planter. I ripped both of them out. The shrub I left wass the smallest of the three. The planter that is attached to the house is not that wide (1 ft) and not that deep (1 ftish). There's a trellis which you could grow something up. I could also rip out the two remaining shrub things. I have no idea what to plant here.

Side of the house:

I built this above ground planter and planted about 500 bulbs in it. I was thinking of waiting until they bloom and then planting annuals around the flowers once they bloom.

Back of the house: