steiggy86
Newly Registered

New to gardening--design help?

Hello all,

I am new to gardening, but decided I wanted to give it a try this year. I have a large layered rock garden, with lots of open space at the base (which receives a great deal of sun), and at the top of the rock garden is a large level area with good soil and partial shade.

I started all of my flowers indoors in March (I live in northern Wisconsin, so it'll be awhile before I can put anything outside). Since I'm new to this, I decided to start a lot of different varieties so I could see what works and what doesn't. I wasn't expecting them all to thrive, but all my seeds sprouted and they appear to be doing quite well. Here is what I have:

Cosmos (Bright Lights collection and chocolate)
Daylilly
Stargazer Lilly
Toad Lilly
Tricolor Daisies
Sweet Pea
Forget-Me-Not
Rock Cress
Foxglove
Delphinium
Snapdragons
Asylum (Pink and White varieties)
Morning Glory
Moonflower
Bachelors Buttons (2 varities, 1 mixed and 1 blue)
Columbine
Aster
Gaillardia
Sweet William
Coleus
Hostas
Monarda
Black Eyed Susan
Liatrus
Oriental Poppy
Portulaca
Zinnia
Impatiens

It really seems like a lot, but I do have a big space and plan to give what I can't fit to my neighbors. I have areas of full sun, partial shade, and full shade available for planting. Does anyone have advice as to which of these I should pair together in my garden? Any advice would be HUGELY appreciated. Also, I know some flowers don't bloom their first year...if anyone knows which I can hope to get to bloom this year, I'd love a heads up! (: Thanks in advance!

lorax
Greener Thumb

The Coleus and Hostas should go in the shadiest spot you've got, near the front of that level (they're relatively low-growing). These generally are not grown for their flowers, but for their foliage; the Hostas may bloom this year (possibly next).