Freind

Soil for New Flowerbed in New Orleans???

Hello folks,

I am very new to gardening as well to this forum and I need lots of help from you guys :D

I'm trying to remodel my flowerbed and I have removed almost all the old shrubs, as they are not growing since many years.

The first thing I like to know that what soil should I use for the flowerbed. I have read many article on the web, I visited the local stores and everyone has different opinion and I'm confuse now. Therefore, please help me out and advise that what soil should I put there, which is very good, with no weeds and least expensive.

I need one more suggestion on my white magnolia tree. It rarely blooms, and this year I didn't see a single flower. So please also advice what should I do for it?

Thanks,

cynthia_h
Super Green Thumb

Good advice requires better input/information:

where do you live?
what exposure do the plants have?
what kind of shrubs were taken out? this might give clues as to the soil.
what kinds of flowers do you intend to grow--annuals? perennials?
do you have photos available?

Almost all soils (personally, I can't think of one, but there may be one out there) will improve with the addition of home-made compost. Home-made compost is superior to purchased compost because it's made from many sources, whereas commercial compost is generally one-source compost: spent mushroom medium, steer manure, etc.

So, while you research the flower-bed question, you might look around in our Compost Forum for ideas on starting your own compost. :)

Cynthia H.
Sunset Zone 17, USDA Zone 9

Freind

Thanks,
I live in zone 9 near New Orleans.

My flowerbed face towards south and the sun revolves east to west but I have Magnolia tree in the center of my yard, just in front of my flowerbed. I have shade in the morning at the west side and after 1 o’clock it moves to east side.