openmic
Newly Registered

OpenMic's 2015 3rd Garden Bed (Feedback requested!)

Hey HelpfulGardeners, I'm new to gardening. I've been lurking a few weeks and finally decided to come out and say hello to the community. I'm looking for feedback so I can become a better gardener.

This is my (and my wife's!) 3rd garden bed, planted 7/19/2015 in Austin TX, zone 8b. The bed is 18' x 2' x 1'. We used 16 cubic feet of Kellog's organic raised bed soil, 11 cubic feet of top soil. We layered the different types of soil, then mixed the layers together, and lastly topped off with 4 cubic feet of compost.

1/3 cup of epsom salt and ~2 lbs of Tomato-Tone mixed into the center of bed before planting. Thoroughly watered within an hour after being planted.

Each plant is 2' apart. From the north end; basil, basil, garlic chive, Anaheim pepper, Bell pepper, Better Boy tomato, strawberry, strawberry, strawberry.

Last edited by openmic on Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ahl389

For some reason I can't see any of the images :(

I used to live in Austin! I miss it dearly.

Allyn
Green Thumb

It sounds lovely, but all the images are little red Xs. :( Thank you for putting in all the relevant location and tech info, though. That's vital information. Once the pics get sorted out, we'll see your garden. :)

openmic
Newly Registered

Sorry about the image mishap. I think I got it fixed.

imafan26
Mod

The peppers, tomatoes and basil will want to have at least 6 hours of sun. The tomato will also need some kind of support.

Strawberries, I usually put them in their own spot. I keep mine in baskets since the slugs and snails love them and they like to be in the sun in the cooler months but I need to move them to partial shade in the summer. If I have them in the ground, I have to cover them with a light mulch during the summer.